AIR
Blueair Blue Pure 211i Max: A Complete Guide for Large Rooms
Choosing an air purifier for a large room involves more than finding the biggest coverage number on a box. You need to…
We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. It never affects our scores.
The Cuckoo CAC-C1020FW is a well-built, feature-heavy H14 purifier that genuinely suits a bedroom, home office or small living room up to about 400 sq ft. Ignore the “1,612 sq ft” headline on the box; the number that matters is its AHAM-verified 403 sq ft. If that fits your room and you like smart touches like voice guidance and a 6-colour air quality ring, it’s a solid pick. If you want maximum clean air for the money, cheaper rivals move more air.
Most people shopping for this model are trying to answer three questions: Is H14 actually better? Will it clean my room? Is it worth around $600? This review answers all three, using only specs we cross-checked against Cuckoo’s own product page and retailer listings.

Our rating: 3.8 / 5
| Category | Score (out of 5) |
|---|---|
| Filtration quality | 4.5 |
| Real-world coverage | 3.5 |
| Features & ease of use | 4.5 |
| Value for money | 3.0 |
| Support & warranty | 3.0 |
What we don’t
Every figure below comes from Cuckoo America’s product page unless marked otherwise.
| Spec | CAC-C1020FW |
|---|---|
| Filter grade | True HEPA H14 |
| Filtration stages | 4: pre-filter, harmful gas filter, activated carbon deodorisation filter, H14 HEPA |
| AHAM-verified room size | 403 sq ft |
| Coverage at 1 air change per hour | 1,612 sq ft |
| Air quality sensor | Fine-dust sensor, 6-colour LED + LED screen |
| Operating modes | Auto, Room Care, Yellow Dust, Baby, Sleep, Repeat, Energy Save, Manual, Turbo |
| Voice guide | English, Spanish, Korean, Chinese |
| Dimensions | 21.6 in H × 10.8 in L × 16.9 in W |
| Weight | 16.31 lb (7.4 kg) |
| Power | 120V AC, 60Hz |
| Wheels | Yes, removable |
| Certifications | FCC (Cuckoo); ETL listed (QVC listing) |
| Warranty | 1-year limited |
| Made in | South Korea |
| Price seen | $594 (Cuckoo Rental); $649.99 (QVC, now delisted) |
| CADR, noise, wattage | Not published by Cuckoo |
Prices move often, so check the current price before you buy.

The C1020FW is a rectangular white cabinet (10.8 × 16.9 in footprint), not the round tower Cuckoo uses on the CAC-D2020FW and CAC-K1910FW. At 21.6 inches tall and 16.3 lb, it sits comfortably beside a bed or desk without dominating the room.
Cuckoo calls the look a “Smart & Dual Design”: Cuckoo’s rental listing describes it as dual-faced, meant to look tidy wherever you place it. Controls are digital touch buttons, and the LED ring changes colour with air quality, so you can read the room from across the bed.
The removable wheels are a small detail that matters. Plenty of people run one purifier in the bedroom at night and the living room by day. At 16 lb, rolling beats lifting.
The C1020FW pushes air through four layers, each with a separate job:
Splitting gas and odour into two dedicated layers is the C1020FW’s real edge over Cuckoo’s cheaper 3-stage models. Many purifiers at this price use one thin carbon sheet.
Is H14 better than H13? On paper, yes. Under the European EN 1822 standard, H13 must capture at least 99.95% of particles at the hardest-to-catch size, while H14 must capture at least 99.995%. In a home, that difference is small. How much air the machine moves through the filter matters far more than the extra decimal place.
One inconsistency is worth knowing: Cuckoo’s own copy says the filters remove “up to 99.97%” of particles. That’s the generic US True HEPA figure, lower than what the H14 class itself requires. It doesn’t make the filter worse; it’s just marketing copy borrowed from H13 models.
Cuckoo lists no UV-C lamp or ioniser for this model. For most homes that’s a plus: purely mechanical filtration raises no ozone questions.

Plan on the C1020FW cleaning a room of up to about 400 sq ft well. That’s a large bedroom, a home office or a modest living room.
You’ll see four different coverage claims for this one model, which is why so many buyers get confused:
| Claim | Where it appears | What it really means |
|---|---|---|
| 1,612 sq ft | Cuckoo product page, Walmart title | Air is replaced once per hour. Too slow for allergies or smoke. |
| 621 sq ft in 30 min | Cuckoo Rental listing | Time to cycle the air once in a bigger room |
| 595 sq ft | Original 2020 Amazon listing title | Older marketing figure |
| 403 sq ft | AHAM-verified, Cuckoo product page | Independent standard: about 4–5 air changes per hour. Use this one. |
Why does it matter? Allergy and wildfire-smoke guidance generally calls for 4 to 5 air changes per hour. At 1 change per hour, particles keep entering faster than the purifier removes them.
AHAM sizes rooms using the purifier’s smoke CADR. Working backwards from 403 sq ft, the C1020FW’s smoke CADR should be roughly 260 cfm. Treat that as our estimate, since Cuckoo hasn’t published the figure.
This is where the C1020FW earns its price. It’s packed with useful automation, though Cuckoo lists no Wi-Fi or app control.
| Mode / feature | What it does for you |
|---|---|
| Auto | Fine-dust sensor sets fan speed by itself. Most owners will leave it here. |
| Room Care | Detects room size and adjusts purification to match |
| Turbo | Maximum fan for fast clean-ups after cooking or vacuuming; run time is adjustable |
| Sleep | Quiet running with dimmed lights for night use |
| Baby | Whisper-quiet mode for a nursery |
| Yellow Dust | Built for heavy fine-dust days, such as seasonal dust storms or smoky air |
| Energy Save | Lower-power running for long, steady use |
| Repeat / Manual | Cycle on a schedule, or pick the fan speed yourself |
| 6-colour LED + screen | Shows fine and ultra-fine dust levels in six stages |
| Voice guide | Spoken prompts in English, Spanish, Korean or Chinese, with adjustable volume |
| Button lock | Keeps kids from changing settings |
| Filter alert | Reminds you when filters are due |
The manual also has settings for sensor sensitivity, a screen saver and an “Energy Eye” function, so you can tune how the unit behaves day to day.
One small catch: Cuckoo’s bullet points say the voice works in three languages, while its spec table lists four. Expect English, Spanish and Korean at minimum.
Cuckoo doesn’t publish decibel or wattage figures for the C1020FW. That’s the biggest gap in its spec sheet.
The best figures we found come from a third-party comparison site, which lists about 22 dB at the lowest speed and 55 dB at the highest. For context, 22 dB is near-silent, and 55 dB is like a normal conversation. That’s typical for this size of purifier. We couldn’t confirm these numbers against Cuckoo’s own documents, so treat them as approximate.
The owner feedback that is public points the same way: one Amazon reviewer said Auto mode cleared the air within minutes and then ran almost silently.
On power, the C1020FW isn’t listed with an Energy Star rating, and Cuckoo publishes no wattage. For reference, Cuckoo’s bigger CAC-K1910FW is rated at 60 W, so the smaller C1020FW should draw no more on high. Over a year, filters will likely cost you more than electricity.
Genuine replacements are sold individually or as a 1-year bundle, listed by Cuckoo Rental:
| Part | Part number |
|---|---|
| 1-year filter bundle | CACFS-C12M04US |
| Pre-filter (washable) | CACF-CPR/US |
| Harmful Gas Easy Filter S | CACF-CHG/US |
| Activated carbon deodorisation filter | CACF-CDE/US |
| True HEPA H14 filter | CACF-CHP14/US |
The pre-filter is washable, so you only rinse it. The other three are consumables. Cuckoo’s retailer listings say the box includes extra H14 filters, so your first year may already be covered. Confirm the exact in-box contents with your seller before you buy a spare.
We couldn’t find a published price for the C1020FW bundle. As a benchmark, Cuckoo’s 1-year bundles for its other purifiers sell for roughly $120–$140. Check the current price before you buy, because filters are the real running cost.
Routine care is simple: rinse the pre-filter, wipe the body and air outlet, and clean the fine-dust sensor now and then so Auto mode stays accurate. The manual walks through each step.
Public owner feedback on the C1020FW is thin. It first appeared on Amazon in September 2020 (ASIN B08J5PYYFF), but it ranks low in Amazon’s sales charts, and its QVC listing has since been removed.
The feedback that does exist is positive about noise and speed: an Amazon owner reported the air clearing within minutes in Auto mode, then the unit settling into near-silent running.
What that means for you: there’s no long-term pattern of faults to warn about, but there’s also no large body of reviews proving durability. Buy from a retailer with a generous return window, and keep your receipt for the 1-year warranty.
Cuckoo’s model numbers look alike, and many reviews mix their specs up. These four are different machines:
| Model | HEPA | Stages | AHAM room size | 1-ACH claim | Weight | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CAC-C1020FW | H14 | 4 | 403 sq ft | 1,612 sq ft | 16.3 lb | Bedrooms, offices, small living rooms |
| CAC-D2020FW | H14 | 3 | Not stated | 2,844 sq ft | 11 kg (24 lb) | Large living rooms |
| CAC-K1910FW | H13 + UV-C | 5 | 470 sq ft | 2,256 sq ft | 15.4 lb | Large rooms, UV-C buyers |
| CAC-I0510FW | H13 | 3 | Not stated | 456 sq ft | 4.2 lb | Small bedrooms, budget |
The C1020FW’s niche is clear: H14 filtration and the richest feature set in a mid-size body. The D2020FW shares the H14 filter and voice guide but is a bigger, pricier tower (US list $899.99; A$649.99 at Costco Australia). The K1910FW covers slightly more verified space (470 vs 403 sq ft) and adds UV-C, but uses H13. The I0510FW is a small, inexpensive 3-stage unit for a different buyer entirely.
Buy the Cuckoo CAC-C1020FW if you:
Up to about 403 sq ft, its AHAM-verified rating. The 1,612 sq ft figure only means one air change per hour.
Yes, slightly. H14 is rated to catch at least 99.995% of particles at the hardest size, versus 99.95% for H13. At home, airflow matters more than that gap.
Cuckoo lists only mechanical filters for this model: no ioniser and no UV-C lamp.
Cuckoo publishes no decibel figures. Third-party data puts it around 22 dB on low and 55 dB on high, and an Amazon owner describes Auto mode as very quiet.
Only the pre-filter. The gas, carbon and H14 HEPA filters need replacing.
The 1-year bundle is CACFS-C12M04US; the H14 filter alone is CACF-CHP14/US.
Cuckoo lists no Wi-Fi or app support. Control is through the touch panel, with voice prompts.
No. Both use H14 filters, but the D2020FW is a larger tower for big rooms.
All four reference pages supplied for this review describe other Cuckoo models, not the CAC-C1020FW. Their figures were used only in the comparison table, never as C1020FW specs:
| Reference supplied | Model it actually covers | Figures that must not be copied to the C1020FW |
|---|---|---|
| Breathe Quality review | CAC-K1910FW | H13, 5 stages, UV-C, CADR 310/303/320 cfm, 21–53 dB, 60 W, Energy Star, 470 sq ft, $799 |
| Walmart listing (K1910FW) | CAC-K1910FW | H13, UV-C, 2,256 sq ft (page could not be fetched; model read from its title) |
| manuals.plus ASIN B0891PDG9N | CAC-I0510FW | H13, 3 stages, 456 sq ft, 41 dB, 4.2 lb |
| Costco Australia | CAC-D2020FW | 2,844 sq ft, 11 kg, 220–240V, A$649.99 |
Open points we could not verify from a primary source: the C1020FW’s CADR, wattage, decibel range, filter replacement intervals and current filter bundle price. Our ~260 cfm CADR is an estimate derived from the AHAM room size.